Diversity Resources

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion:

Training:

Fearless Futures – http://www.fearlessfutures.org/

Voluntary Sector Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Initiatives:

ACEVO – https://www.acevo.org.uk/advocacy/policy-and-research/diversity-in-the-charity-sector/

Institute of Fundraising – www.institute-of-fundraising.org.uk/championing-fundraising/equality-diversity-and-inclusion/

New Philanthropy Capital – https://www.thinknpc.org/themes/discover-ideas-and-approaches/diversity-and-inclusion/

Association of Charitable Foundations – https://www.acf.org.uk/policy-practice/stronger-foundations/dei-working-group

Organisations:

Fakequity – https://fakequity.com/

2027 Talent Programme – http://2027.org.uk/

CharityWorks – taster programme for BAME students and graduates:  http://www.charity-works.co.uk/taster-programme/

Rent A Minority:   http://rentaminority.com/

D5 Coalition:   http://www.d5coalition.org/

Colour of Power:  http://www.thecolourofpower.com/colour-of-power/

Racial Equity Tools:  https://www.racialequitytools.org/

Diversity Forum:  https://www.diversityforum.org.uk/

Equally Ours (Equality and Diversity Forum):  https://www.equallyours.org.uk/

Guide to Allyship:  http://www.guidetoallyship.com/

Twitter Accounts:

#CharitySoWhite – @CharitySoWhite

Young Trustees Movement – @YoungTrustees

Action for Trustee Racial Diversity UK – @atrd_uk

#NonGraduatesWelcome – @NonGradsWelcome

Podcasts:

About Race – with Reni Eddo-Lodge:  https://www.aboutracepodcast.com/

Over the Bridge – with Bilal, Kwaku, Patrick & Tom:  https://soundcloud.com/overthebridgeuk/s1-e5-identity-who-are-we-what-is-it

Disability Now:  https://player.fm/series/disability-now-the-download

Ouch: Disability Talk:  https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02r6yqw/episodes/downloads

#QueerAF:  https://play.acast.com/s/studentpride

Busy Being Black:  https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/busy-being-black/id1355469484?mt=2

Les Talk:  https://player.fm/series/les-talk

Guilty Feminist:  http://guiltyfeminist.com/episodes/

Are We Class Clueless?  (Centre for Labour and Social Studies):  http://classonline.org.uk/blog/item/class-on-class-our-new-podcast

Videos and Other Media:

All the Little Things – Panti Bliss:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIhsv18lrqY

What Does It Mean to be LGBT Today – Asad Dhunna:  https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/what-does-it-mean-be-lgbt-today

LGBT Equality in the 21st Century – Ruth Hunt (Stonewall):  https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/lgbt-equality-21st-century

Time’s Up! A Movement for Change – RSA:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXXddfMqF4k

London School of Economics – Inequalities Institute:  http://www.lse.ac.uk/International-Inequalities/Videos-Podcasts

“On intersectionality” – Kimberlé Crenshaw:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-DW4HLgYPlA

“Seriously, I can’t be racist” on unconsious bias – Dr Keon West:  https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/21wxrfj5S79pz6CMCdHmVL3/what-you-can-do-to-spot-and-stop-unconscious-bias

Reports:

From Words to Actions – Grantcraft:  http://www.grantcraft.org/assets/content/resources/Words_to_Action-_Barbara_Chow.pdf

Equality and Human Rights Framework for the Voluntary Sector – Equality and Diversity Forum:  http://www.edf.org.uk/framework/

Snowy Peaks: ethnic diversity at the top – Runnymede Trust (2010):  https://www.runnymedetrust.org/uploads/publications/pdfs/SnowyPeaks-2010.pdf

Thinking Differently About Difference – Green Park Consulting (2016):  https://www.green-park.co.uk/insights/thinking-differently-about-difference/

The Diversity Paradox – capturing the value of difference by looking beyond the numbers:  The B Team (2015):  http://www.bteam.org/plan-b/the-diversity-paradox-capturing-the-value-of-difference-by-looking-beyond-the-numbers/

Improving Equality and Diversity – a guide for third sector CEOs:  ACEVO (2011):  Improving Equality and Diversity in Your Organisation ACEVO 2011

Let’s Talk About Race: civil society and race equality:  Civil Society Futures/Brap (2018):  https://civilsocietyfutures.org/race/

A Primer on Intersectionality (including “What Kind of Ally Are You?”):  AAPF/Kimberlé Crenshaw:  https://newreciprocity.files.wordpress.com/2018/03/494a3-59819079-intersectionality-primer.pdf

Perspectives:

The “business case” for inclusion is bankrupt. Let’s disinvest – Hanna Naima McCloskey: https://medium.com/fearless-futures/the-business-case-for-inclusion-is-bankrupt-lets-disinvest-9acf15f44121

Privilege and Prejudice – Whitney Iles:  https://whitneyiles.blog/2018/01/09/privilege-and-prejudice-a-discourse-continued/

Recognize Privilege and Confront It to do Philanthropy Well – Grantmakers for Effective Organizations:  https://www.geofunders.org/about-us/perspectives/2

Explaining White Privilege To A Broke White Person – Gina Crosly-Corcoran (Huffington Post):  https://www.huffingtonpost.com/gina-crosleycorcoran/explaining-white-privilege-to-a-broke-white-person_b_5269255.html?guccounter=1

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: